A Knititng Diary

Follow me on my knitting expeditions!

Snezi Oversize Shrug May 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — ndscribbler @ 8:54 pm

Tada!

Snezi Shrug

Originally I guesstimated that this would take me about a week to knit, but to my surprise it took me 4 days! So there are quite a few differences between what the pattern called for and what I actually did.

1. Pattern calls for 100% cashmere yarn, 25g weight. I used 100% Merino Wool in a 50g weight.

2. I misread the needles needed for this project because I just didn’t notice the MM behind the sizes. So I used a US size 6 and 10 needle instead of a 5.5 MM and 7.0 MM.

3. The combination of different yarn and smaller needles made my gauge a bit different. But what’s listed in the book is 20 rows/4 inches and I got 27 rows/5 inches in stockinette with the larger needles. In the end it all worked out though.

My sleeves wound up being shorter which is perfectly fine with me. The one thing I dislike about a lot of sweaters is having long sleeves. I’m definitely one of those people who gets warm quickly and prefers 3/4 length sleeves on anything warm. Well, excluding sweatshirts…but that’s a different story. Plus this will be nice to double up with a long sleeved tee or tanks or pretty much anything else.

I love the seed stitch on the edges. The last time I had to do seed stitch I somehow kept messing up somewhere but this time I managed to make it without much trouble! My other favorite thing about the sweater is that it is so elegantly simple; which works amazing for being oversized.

In the end I only used 6 1/2 skeins of the Merino yarn so I will have to find something else to whip up with it. Maybe a hat to match? My other problem now is figuring out what I want to knit next and then buying some more yarn!