A Knititng Diary

Follow me on my knitting expeditions!

Not now honey, I’m counting! June 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — ndscribbler @ 12:08 am
Tags: , , ,

I guess I can also count this as a knitting confession.  But it really irritates me when my husband sees that I’m concentrating on my knitting and then proceeds to ask me a question that requires more than a grunt response.  Instead of asking “Do you want chicken or fish” he says “What do you want for dinner?”  Or he’ll saunter in and say “What’d you do today?”  More often than not he’ll ask about what my plans are or what do I think about such and such.  Really?  Come on, you know that I’m busy and probably having trouble keeping track of how many stitches I’ve knit so far, so why do you insist on conversing with me?!

I’m working on Sally the Eco Fairy (found here at Knitty) but with a few tweaks.  Originally I wanted to knit the Woodins, but it requires more dpn’s than I currently own.  So I decided to knit this doll.  But since I bought white and brown yarn yesterday and don’t want to buy yet another skein of yarn, I’m knitting the doll brown and will use crazy yarn my MIL gave me for hair and instead of knitting clothes, I think I will sew some for her.  If all turns out well, I will knit one for my cousin’s birthday around Christmas.

Well, in knitting the head, I discovered that attempting to knit in the round with a stuffed head is difficult.  Everything turned out okay, but it took me a bit to gather my senses about it.  I plan on knitting the doll in parts.  Obviously you have to knit her in parts, but I’m going to try and do only one part/day.  That way I don’t burn myself out.  There’s nothing worse to me than having to leave my knitting on dpn’s.  I always come back confused about where I was and what I was doing.  The head is all finished so I think I will knit the ears and maybe the hair and call it a day.